The 2020 Folking Awards – The nominations

2020 Folking Awards

Welcome to the 2020 Folking Awards and thank you again to everyone who participated this year. The nominations were in eight categories and came from our dedicated team of writers and were collated into shape in cyberspace.

There are five nominees in each category of the 2020 Folking Awards, all of whom have impressed our writers during 2019. But all are winners in our eyes, as are quite a few who didn’t make the short list. However, it’s not just about what we think, so once more, it is down to you, our ever-growing readership, to make the final call and in these difficult times let’s give all of our nominees a boost.

*The Public Vote for each category has now closed. Many thanks to everyone that voted.

 Soloist Of The Year

Eliza Carthy
Martyn Joseph
Jack Rutter
Richard Thompson
Andy White

Best Duo

Naomi Bedford & Paul Simmonds
Harbottle & Jonas
Jacob & Drinkwater
Kathryn Roberts and Sean Lakeman
Sound Of The Sirens

Best Band
Fairport Convention
Benji Kirkpatrick and the Excess
The Unthanks

Best Live Act

Benji Kirkpatrick & The Excess
Seth Lakeman
Merry Hell
Grace Petrie

Best Album

Chris Cleverley – We Sat Back And Watched It Unfold
Amy Goddard – Always A Dreamer
Ralph McTell – Hill Of Beans
Jack Rutter – Gold Of Scar & Shale
Ben Walker – Echo

Best Musician

Lukas Drinkwater
Tim Edey
Martyn Joseph
Rachel Newton
Martin Simpson

Rising Star

Thom Ashworth
Cohen Braithwaite-Kilcoyne
Joshua Burnell
Odette Michell
Winter Mountain

Best International Artist

Bruce Cockburn
Michael McDermott
Ellis Paul
Danny Schmidt
The Slambovian Circus of Dreams

The winners of each category will be announced early June. See our nominations and public vote winners for previous years here.