Welcome To The Folkies

With Oscar fever rising to a climax it’s time to say “Welcome To The Folkies” – the 2016 Folking Awards. We’ve sifted through the albums and performances of 2015 – always a long and difficult task punctuated by bouts of thumb-wrestling to settle disputes. Adopting the pattern followed by everyone else, here, in no order of precedence, are our nominations. With the exception of one category we have restricted our choices to British acts.

All nominations are 2016 Folking Awards winners.

Welcome To The Folkies

Soloist Of The Year

Steve Tilston
Sam Carter
Kathryn Roberts
Steve Knightley
Ange Hardy

Best Duo

Phillip Henry & Hannah Martin
India Electric Co.
Show Of Hands
Kathryn Roberts & Sean Lakeman

Best Band

Blackbeard’s Tea Party
Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band
False Lights
Merry Hell

Best Live Act

The Demon Barbers XL
Blackbeard’s Tea Party
Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band
CC Smugglers

Best Album

Layers Of Ages – Peter Knight’s Gigspanner
Head Heart Hand – Megan Henwood
The Girl I Left Behind Me – India Electric Co.
It’s Not Your Gold Shall Me Entice – Elle Osborne
Disco At The Tavern – The Demon Barbers

Best Musician

Dan Walsh
Peter Knight
P.J. Wright
Chris Leslie
Kris Drever

Folking’s Rising Star

Will Varley
Sam Kelly
Wes Finch
India Electric Co.
Chris Cleverley

Best International Artist

Gretchen Peters
Tom Russell
Gandalf Murphy And The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams
Justin Townes Earle
Los Lobos

To give the awards a further edge, we opened the vote to our visitors and run a public poll in all of the 8 categories (as listed above).

The Public Vote closed Sunday 28 February at 20.00 hours and “The Folking Winners” have now been announced here at: http://folking.com/the-folking-winners/

If you would like to consider ordering a copy of an album for any of our award winners (in CD or Vinyl), download an album or track or just listen to snippets of selected songs (track previews are usually on the download page) then type what you are looking for in the search bar above.

Buying through Amazon on folking.com helps us to recover a small part of our running costs, so please order anything you need as every little purchase helps us

Clype announce debut album


Clype is the much-anticipated self-titled debut album from one of Scotland’s newest and most dynamic duos. Hailing from the North East, Clype is a stripped-back experiment in fusing sounds and styles from around the globe. The musicians borrow from Scottish folk traditions as well as from the rhythms of Latin America and harmonic ideas of jazz to create a new, inimitable sound.

The duo, which comprises pianist and singer-songwriter Simon Gall of Salsa Celtica and Old Blind Dogs fiddler Jonny Hardie, has produced an exciting and challenging album filled with fresh-sounding melody lines, thought-provoking lyrics and elegant arrangements which has garnered prestigious support. Speaking about the music the legendary singer-songwriter Richard Thompson said,

 “I urge you to give a listen to Clype. This is music firmly rooted in the North East of Scotland, but which pulls in influences from all over the world. Simon Gall and Jonny Hardie create music which is eclectic, original, accomplished and challenging.”

The mood of the album is established in the introduction of the first song ‘The Brush to Paint Us All’; a song which was inspired by the harmonic ideas of Bill Evans, the melodic heritage of Scottish folk music and the academic ideas of Edward Said.

Other tracks such as ‘Down With May’ more clearly highlight Clype’s interest in Latin America – in particular Colombia’s Pacific coast. This song flits between feels and time signatures recalling the rhythmic traditions of Afro-Colombia while further exploring Scottish folk sensibilities.

‘Now My Home’ features the unmistakable low whistle of Ross Ainslie. The weaving melody is complimented by an exciting whistle solo which lifts the track to its peak before settling back into the tasteful piano groove.

The beautiful voice of guest singer-songwriter Jenny Sturgeon can be heard in her self-penned track ‘Fair Drawin’ In’. Its soaring melody is underpinned by a repetitive pedal in the piano and shruti box giving the song a distinctive and lush harmonic bed upon which to dance. Jenny also co-writes and sings on the reflective ‘Red Tide’.

The album is deep and mature and is a testimony to the creativity of the musicians. It was born out of a profound love for the folk music of the world and has masterfully pulled some of them together to create a vibrant, enduring and inspiring album.

Artists’ website: http://www.clypemusic.com/

Watch the promotional video: