Johnny Cash box set due in January

Johnny Cash

Johnny Cash’s newly-unearthed 1968 At The Carousel Ballroom live album – captured by Grateful Dead sound wizard Owsley “Bear” Stanley – gets limited-edition box set release on 14th January 2022 via BMG and the Owsley Stanley foundation

Bear’s Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash, At The Carousel Ballroom April 24 1968 vinyl box set includes psychedelic coloured vinyl, reproduction of original concert poster and re-print of ‘Hello, I’m Johnny Cash’ comic book

 At The Carousel Ballroom 2 LP SET available now:

Johnny Cash’s historic and just-released At The Carousel Ballroom live album will be made available as part of a limited-edition Cash box set next month, featuring the 28-song performance on all-analogue double vinyl alongside exclusive artwork, special LP design and rare collectibles from the era. Arriving on 14th January 2022, the box set release will offer a comprehensive multimedia look at this recently-unearthed Johnny Cash live performance; captured in the heart of hippie San Francisco by counterculture icon and “Wall Of Sound” pioneer Owsley “Bear” Stanley. Recorded in April 1968, only a few days before the release of At Folsom Prison and just months before the arrival of the equally-revered At San Quentin, ‘At The Carousel Ballroom’ serves as a third essential – and wholly unique – live document from Cash’s legend-making late 60s comeback. Released by BMG and the Owsley Stanley Foundation, the limited-edition box set for Bear’s Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash, At The Carousel Ballroom April 24, 1968 will include:

* The 28-song collection released on exclusive psychedelic coloured vinyl

* A retro re-print of the “Hello, I’m Johnny Cash” comic book

* Reproduction of the original 1968 concert poster from Steve Catron in his legendary signature style

* 12-page booklet with new essays giving context to the release from Bob Weir, John Carter Cash, Dave Schools and more.

* New original artwork by 3-time Grammy-winner Susan Archie

* Audiophile, all-analogue production newly mastered from the vault tapes by Owsley’s hand-picked engineer Paul Stubblebine

Pre-order the limited-edition box set for At The Carousel Ballroom (out 14 January), and purchase the album on all formats, including as a 2 LP set, here:

Johnny Cash At The Carousel Ballroom, April 24 1968 tracklist

  • Cocaine Blues
  • Long Black Veil
  • Orange Blossom Special (CD and Digital only)
  • Going to Memphis
  • The Ballad of Ira Hayes
  • Rock Island Line
  • Guess Things Happen That Way
  • One Too Many Mornings
  • Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  • Give My Love to Rose
  • Green, Green Grass of Home
  • Old Apache Squaw
  • Lorena
  • Forty Shades of Green
  • Bad News
  • Jackson
  • Tall Lover Man
  • June’s Song Introduction
  • Wildwood Flower
  • Foggy Mountain Top
  • This Land Is Your Land
  • Wabash Cannonball
  • Worried Man Blues
  • Long Legged Guitar Pickin’ Man
  • Ring of Fire
  • Big River
  • Don’t Take Your Guns to Town
  • I Walk the Line