Johnny Cash box set due in January

Johnny Cash

Johnny Cash’s newly-unearthed 1968 At The Carousel Ballroom live album – captured by Grateful Dead sound wizard Owsley “Bear” Stanley – gets limited-edition box set release on 14th January 2022 via BMG and the Owsley Stanley foundation

Bear’s Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash, At The Carousel Ballroom April 24 1968 vinyl box set includes psychedelic coloured vinyl, reproduction of original concert poster and re-print of ‘Hello, I’m Johnny Cash’ comic book

 At The Carousel Ballroom 2 LP SET available now:

Johnny Cash’s historic and just-released At The Carousel Ballroom live album will be made available as part of a limited-edition Cash box set next month, featuring the 28-song performance on all-analogue double vinyl alongside exclusive artwork, special LP design and rare collectibles from the era. Arriving on 14th January 2022, the box set release will offer a comprehensive multimedia look at this recently-unearthed Johnny Cash live performance; captured in the heart of hippie San Francisco by counterculture icon and “Wall Of Sound” pioneer Owsley “Bear” Stanley. Recorded in April 1968, only a few days before the release of At Folsom Prison and just months before the arrival of the equally-revered At San Quentin, ‘At The Carousel Ballroom’ serves as a third essential – and wholly unique – live document from Cash’s legend-making late 60s comeback. Released by BMG and the Owsley Stanley Foundation, the limited-edition box set for Bear’s Sonic Journals: Johnny Cash, At The Carousel Ballroom April 24, 1968 will include:

* The 28-song collection released on exclusive psychedelic coloured vinyl

* A retro re-print of the “Hello, I’m Johnny Cash” comic book

* Reproduction of the original 1968 concert poster from Steve Catron in his legendary signature style

* 12-page booklet with new essays giving context to the release from Bob Weir, John Carter Cash, Dave Schools and more.

* New original artwork by 3-time Grammy-winner Susan Archie

* Audiophile, all-analogue production newly mastered from the vault tapes by Owsley’s hand-picked engineer Paul Stubblebine

Pre-order the limited-edition box set for At The Carousel Ballroom (out 14 January), and purchase the album on all formats, including as a 2 LP set, here:

Johnny Cash At The Carousel Ballroom, April 24 1968 tracklist

  • Cocaine Blues
  • Long Black Veil
  • Orange Blossom Special (CD and Digital only)
  • Going to Memphis
  • The Ballad of Ira Hayes
  • Rock Island Line
  • Guess Things Happen That Way
  • One Too Many Mornings
  • Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right
  • Give My Love to Rose
  • Green, Green Grass of Home
  • Old Apache Squaw
  • Lorena
  • Forty Shades of Green
  • Bad News
  • Jackson
  • Tall Lover Man
  • June’s Song Introduction
  • Wildwood Flower
  • Foggy Mountain Top
  • This Land Is Your Land
  • Wabash Cannonball
  • Worried Man Blues
  • Long Legged Guitar Pickin’ Man
  • Ring of Fire
  • Big River
  • Don’t Take Your Guns to Town
  • I Walk the Line

We all give our spare time to run Our aim has always been to keep folking a free service for our visitors, artists, PR agencies and tour promoters. If you wish help out and donate something (running costs currently funded by Paul Miles), please click the PayPal link below to send us a small one off payment or a monthly contribution.