Anna Hester announces her debut album

Anna Hester

Postcard Songs is the culmination of five years of creative work and collaboration, including a successful Crowdfunder campaign. The 10 songs all use postcards as a starting point, and together they tell a range of intertwining stories. The postcard project began in 2016 when Anna Hester attended an Arvon songwriting retreat. She received guidance from tutors Kathryn Williams and Samantha Parton and guest speaker Boo Hewerdine. Inspired by the course, Anna set to work writing songs about postcards: about the images, the messages, and the people and places behind them.

Postcard Songs was recorded and produced at Gladeside Recordings by Dan Wilde. Dan is a well-respected singer-songwriter and a sought-after producer. He produced Anna’s EP Towards Today, and his other production credits include Roswell and Chris Fox. Postcard Songs features skilled session musicians Maddy Hamilton (cello), John Parker (double bass), and Jamie Welsted (drums). Josh Brewin has a guitar solo on ‘Café Sacher’, and Dan Wilde lends guitar and additional percussion to several tracks. The album was mastered by Eric James at Philosophers Barn Mastering. Three singles from Postcard Songs have been released: ‘A Line’ (May 2020), ‘Alone In Glasgow’ (March 2021), and ‘Summer Is a-Comin’ In’ (May 2021).

Artist’s website:

‘Summer Is a-Comin’ In’ – official video:’s very own Paul Johnson, and the team look forward to covering the New Forest Folk Festival again this year with bigger and better coverage.

Paul will be at The New Forest Folk Festival bringing coverage and as many of his audio interviews with the performers as he can grab and Lewis Beech will be face-booking, insta-gramming and Tweeting from the festival all weekend. ~ find out more here ~

%d bloggers like this: