FOLKLAW – We Will Rise (Fiddle of 8 Records – FO8R02CD)

We Will RiseFolklaw are a folk rock band made up of Nick Gibbs, vocals, fiddle and strings, Bryn Williams, vocals and guitar, Martin Vogwell, vocals, mandolin electric guitar and banjo, Jon Dowling vocals and bass guitar, Gaz Hunt, vocals, drums and percussion, Jacquelyn Hynes Irish flute and whistle and Emi McDade, vocals and piano. They are joined on We Will Rise by Lyndon Webb on mandolin and guitars and Paul Hutchinson on accordion.

The album starts as it means to go on with the title track ‘We Will Rise’ with its upbeat tempo. There is a chance to slow down for a moment with ‘Love Again’, then it’s back to the upbeat tempo again.

Subject matter for the album is a good folk mix of suffragettes, the environment, stories of the heart, mental health and life on tour. Song writing and vocal duties are shared amongst Nick, Bryn and Martin, though I must say I think my preference edged towards Nick’s songs, especially ‘Rocks Of The Burren’ and ‘Angels Wings’.

The album is nicely produced and if you’re a fan of fiddle driven foot tapping songs, then this is an album for you.

Duncan Chappell

Artist’s website:

‘Folky Pirates’ – official video:

We all give our spare time to run Our aim has always been to keep folking a free service for our visitors, artists, PR agencies and tour promoters. If you wish help out and donate something (running costs currently funded by Paul Miles), please click the PayPal link below to send us a small one off payment or a monthly contribution.