TRENT MILLER – Time Between Us (Bucketfull Of Brains BOB801)

Time Between UsTrent Miller’s new CD Time Between Us, due for release on 16th March 2018, as yet has no mention that I could find on his own web site or that of his record company, so I guess it’s very hot off the press. However, it appears that he originally hails from Turin and now lives in London. His previous albums include Cerberus, Welcome To Inferno Valley, and Burnt Offerings, the last being released in 2014. So he does, so to speak, have a track record, and has been compared to Guy Clark, Townes Van Zandt, and Gene Clark (among others), and certainly the album sits squarely in the Americana category.

Track listing is as follows:

  1. ‘Time Between Us’
  2. ‘How Soon To Never’
  3. ‘Moonlight Café’
  4. ‘Hotel Rooms Of Ocean Blue’
  5. ‘Lady Margaret Street’
  6. ‘Bonfires Of Navarino Road’
  7. ‘Days In Winter’
  8. ‘Hearts Forever Changing’
  9. ‘After The Great Betrayal’
  10. ‘Since You’ve Gone’
  11. ‘Lament Of The Sea’
  12. ‘She’s Leaving This Place For Good’

Van Zandt, Clark (and Clark)…Well, those are big shoes to fill, but he does wrap a suitably lived-in voice around some songs that could easily have come out of the US. In places, his vocals even remind me of Johnny Cash’s last work, though pitched in a higher register. On ‘Lady Margaret Street’ the singing recalls the bruised vocals on Cash’s cover of the Nine Inch Nails song ‘Hurt’, though the song is pacier and the lyric less astringent.

I don’t hear anything quite as classic as ‘Desperadoes Waiting For A Train’ or ‘Pancho And Lefty’ here, and a couple of the songs are a shade too reminiscent melodically of songs by other singers. But it’s a decent collection of country-ish songs, with lyrics that sometimes sound quite personal, but have more light and shade than I was expecting from what I’ve heard of his earlier material. The album features tight (and never obtrusive) instrumental work from Miller stalwarts Paul Cuddeford (guitar), Barbara Bartz (violin), Bethany Porter (cello) and Patrick Degenhardt (drums), and a live set by Miller and his band is probably well worth hearing.

David Harley

Artist’s website:

‘Days In Winter’ – official video:

Any CD/ Vinyl/ Download/ Book/ DVD that are reviewed or featured above (where available) can be ordered below through our UK or US Storefront 

Buying through Amazon on helps us to recover a small part of our running costs, so please order anything you need as every little purchase helps us.

Click above to order featured CD/ Vinyl/ Download/ Book/ DVD

Physical link for the UK Store is:

Alternatively, search the Amazon main UK Store below.

Click above to order featured CD/ Vinyl/ Download/ Book/ DVD

Physical link to the US Store

Alternatively, search the Amazon main US Store below (change selection from Jethro Tull and click 'Go').

We all give our spare time to run Our aim has always been to keep folking a free service for our visitors, artists, PR agencies and tour promoters. If you wish help out and donate something (running costs currently funded by Darren Beech), please click the PayPal link below to send us a small one off payment or a monthly contribution.