Anne Lister announces her new album

Anne Lister

Twelve songs, which, like the astrolabe of the title track, measure time and space. One song written in 1970, another written in 2019. A ring found at the Roman archaeological site of Vindolanda, a box of memorabilia belonging to a grandmother, a WWI battle, an olive branch for a former lover, the near-death experience of rats, a farewell to a dear friend, and an angel in the form of a starving polar bear. Amongst others.

Musicians and allies involved were Mike O’Connor, Barbara Griggs, Matt Crum, Steafan Hannigan, Mary McLaughlin, Helen Vincent-Tibke, Steve Purbrick, with studio engineers Liv Elliott in Boscastle, Dylan Fowler in Stiwdio Felin Fach, and Anne’s very talented nephew Rhys Fletcher, who mixed four songs and mastered the whole album.

Anne is best known as the writer of ‘Icarus’, performed and recorded by many, including Nic Jones and  Martin Simpson.  Other songs you may have heard include ‘Moth’, ‘The Quiet People’, and ‘Demeter’s Daughter’.

She performs solo, but has worked in a duo with Mary Mc Laughlin (Anonyma) and Steafan Hannigan, and has toured extensively in the UK and the US.

Artist’s website:

Release date: 28 December 2019.
Available now to pre-order from Anne’s website,
Bandcamp and CDBaby.

Just for old time’s sake – ‘Icarus’: