The Local Honeys announce UK festival gigs and November tour

The Local Honeys
Photograph by Erica Chambers

The Local Honeys are from the rolling hills of the Bluegrass and the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, Montana Hobbs and Linda Jean Stokley are two exceptionally talented young women who will be bringing the Folk music of Kentucky to UK shores for a string of UK festivals, including Latitude and Summertyne. The talented duo also announce a headline tour in November – full details below.

Having been the first women to graduate their state university’s degree programme in traditional “Hillbilly” music, The Local Honeys have gone on to win numerous songwriting accolades, including the prestigious Chris Austin Songwriting Award at MerleFest – also awarded to Gillian Welch at the beginning of her career.

The duo have dedicated themselves to the preservation of old music and the creation of new music. Their song writing often reflects subject matter that little girls ought not talk about. This element played a strong impact in the production and creation of their acclaimed debut album, Little Girls Actin’ Like Men released in 2016.

If you’re looking for an antidote to the surplus of young beardy middle-class men singing winsomely about love, then The Local Honeys will bring you something more vital, more socially and environmentally aware…. and they’ll deliver it so beautifully you’ll be hooked in seconds.

Artists’ website: https://www.thelocalhoneys.com/

‘Cigarette Trees’ – live:

UK SUMMER FESTIVALS

Friday 19th July – Latitude Festival
https://latitude.frontgatetickets.com/

Saturday 20th July – SummerTyne
https://sagegateshead.com\

Sunday 21st July – Doune The Rabbit Hole
https://dounetherabbithole.co.uk/

Tuesday 23rd July – An Tobar, Mull
www.comar.co.uk

Wednesday 24 July – Bunessan Town Hall, Mull
www.comar.co.uk

Saturday 27th July – Beer & Bluegrass, Bournemouth
www.beerandbluegrass.co.uk

Sunday 28th July – Square and Compass, North Devon
www.squareandcompasspub.co.uk

Friday 2nd August – Underneath The Stars
https://underthestarsfest.co.uk

Saturday 3rd August – Belladrum, Tartan Heart festival
(both main stage and headlining the Americana tent).
https://tartanheartfestival.co.uk

NOVEMBER HEADLINE TOUR

Monday 4th November – Manchester – Midway Folk Club
www.midwayfolkclub.co.uk

Tuesday 5th November – Birmingham – Kitchen Garden Café
www.kitchengardencafe.co.uk

Wednesday 6th November – Liverpool Philharmonic, The Music Room
www.liverpoolphil.com

Thursday 7th November – The HUBS -Sheffield
www.talkinggigs.co.uk

Monday 11th November – Brighton The Greys
http://thegreysfreehouse.co.uk

Wednesday 13th November – London Cecil Sharp House
www.cecilsharphouse.org

Thursday 14th November – Cambridge Junction 2
www.junction.co.uk

Friday 15th November – Thames Ditton RAM Club
www.theramclub.co.uk

Sunday 17th November – Portsmouth The Square Tower
www.squarerootspromotions.co.uk