Kate Rusby announces her Christmas tour dates

Kate Rusby

A Kate Rusby Christmas Concert perpetuates the tradition of Yorkshire carols, specific carols sung in the crowded pubs of South Yorkshire. Kate sat in the corner of those crowded pubs as a child, so the songs she brings to these shows are in her bones. For over two hundred years, from late-November to New Year’s Day, North Derbyshire and South Yorkshire communities would congregate on Sunday lunchtimes, in their local public house, to belt out their own versions of familiar carols, carols that were often frowned upon by the church in Victorian times as ‘too happy’.

Her happiness, humour and storytelling are a feature of Kate’s live shows. Joining her on stage for this unmissable evening of Christmas cheer will be a top-flight brass quintet affectionately known as The Brass Boys and, as ever, her hugely talented band of musicians:

Damien O’Kane on guitar, electric tenor guitar and banjo
Nick Cooke on diatonic accordion
Duncan Lyall on double bass and Moog
Josh Clark on drums and percussion
Aaron Jones on Bouzouki

As the title of her most recent, and fifth, Christmas album declares, Kate Rusby is a Holly Head. If you hadn’t already spotted from her other Christmas albums, Sweet Bells, While Mortals Sleep, The Frost Is All Over and Angels And Men, as well as her Live at Christmas DVDs, she is not only Santa’s biggest musical helper, but she is also an incurable Christmas nerd.

Artist’s website: katerusby.com

‘Bradfield’ – live:

December 2021 Tour Dates

02 Cambridge Corn Exchange
04 Malvern Theatres
05 Cheltenham Town Hall
06 London Union Chapel
07 Bath Forum
09 Sage Gateshead
10 Warrington Parr Hall
11 Birmingham Town Hall, Matinee & Evening
12 Harrogate Royal Hall
14 Bradford St George’s Hall
15 Sheffield City Hall
19 Nottingham TRCH
20 York Barbican





%d bloggers like this: