Gretchen Peters announces new album and tour dates

Gretchen Peters
Photograph courtesy of BBC

Described by Uncut magazine as “One of Nashville’s greatest talents”, Gretchen Peters is releasing new album Dancing With The Beast next month. It’s the follow-up to 2016’s acclaimed record Blackbirds, which was named Album of The Year by the Americana Music Association.

It’s with some anticipation that the record is being released, and she has put together an especially timely record, with the contributions of Matraca Berg and Ben Glover amongst others. Dancing With The Beast puts female characters at the fore, from teenage girls to old women. And intentionally so. With the 2017 Women’s March and #MeToo Movement as bookends to her writing time, Peters knew that a feminist perspective would be the critical core of the record. “Those two events just put everything — as so many things in 2017 — in really stark relief,” she admits. “You can trace the feminist DNA in my songwriting back to ‘Independence Day’ and probably before. The thing that 2017 did is just put it front and centre. It was very easy to kind of go to sleep for a while and just not think about that stuff because we were lulled into complacency for eight years.”

If you would like to order a copy of an album (CD or Vinyl format), download a copy or just listen to snippets of selected tracks then click below to be taken to our associated partner Amazon’s website (use the left and right arrows below to scroll along or back to see the full selection).

Buying through Amazon on folking.com helps us to recover a small part of our running costs, so please order anything you need as every little purchase helps us.

Artist’s website: http://www.gretchenpeters.com/

‘Disappearing Act’ – official video:

Tour Dates

Saturday, 19th May 2018 Stamford, Corn Exchange

Sunday, 20th May 2018 Milton Keynes, The Stables

Tuesday, 22nd May 2018 Edinburgh, Queens Hall

Wednesday, 23rd May 2018 Gateshead, The Sage Gateshead

Friday, 25th May 2018 Birmingham, Birmingham Town Hall

Saturday, 26th May 2018 Southport, The Atkinson

Sunday, 27th May 2018 Manchester, Royal Northern College of Music

Wednesday, 30th May 2018 Leeds, City Varieties

Thursday, 31st May 2018 Bury St Edmunds, The Apex

Saturday, 2nd June 2018 Bristol, St Georges

Sunday, 3rd June 2018 Worthing, The Pavilion Theatre

Thursday, 7th June 2018 Shetland, Mareel

Saturday, 9th June 2018 Nottingham, Gate to Southwell Festival

Tuesday, 12th June 2018 Cardiff, Level 3 – St David’s Hall

Wednesday, 13th June 2018 London, Cadogan Hall

Friday, 15th June 2018 Beverley, Beverley Folk Festival Main Stage

Friday, 24th August 2018 Wadebridge, Cornwall Folk Festival

Sunday, 26th August 2018 Shrewsbury, Shrewsbury Folk Festival