Matty James announces new album and tour dates

The Road To No Town

The Road To No Town is the brand new album from Northern Irish singer-songwriter Matty James, set for release on Friday 29th April on Pirate Heart Records / Cargo Records. Following from his critically acclaimed debut Last One To Die (2014), it features lead single ‘Sticks & Stones’ and journeys through rabble-rousing folk, country rock sing-alongs and reflective, well-versed ballads. It’s the soundtrack to a bar fight and a lament for the morning after. For the rogue, the romantic and the resilient. What ties this genre-defying work together is the sheer quality of the songs, which see Matty maturing as an artist and refining his craft. Handling most of the instruments and the production himself, it features some choice guest spots including fellow Fermanagh musician Pat McManus of Mama’s Boys/ Celtus on the fiddle, adding to the distinct Irish spirit in the music.

The album is available on CD and digital formats and if you pre-order now you will receive the tittle track ‘The Road To No Town’ instantly, ahead of release.

 “Sounds like the work of someone twice Matty’s age who has many albums under their belt. Surely he has no right to be able to pen such epic songs.” – Uber Rock

The record was funded through a highly successful  PledgeMusic  campaign which reached it’s target in just 4 days and finished on a staggering 218% of it’s goal. The project featured many exclusives including a limited edition acoustic record entitled Cut To The Bone. To celebrate, Matty hit the road across the UK with full backing band The Irregulars for the first time. After relentless touring over the last few years with only a guitar for company, the band‘s electrifying show made quite a stir.

‘Sticks & Stones’: